Guest Review of When the Soul Mends by Cindy Woodsmall

I was all set and ready to read this series to do a huge review, but unfortunately school got in the way and papers and exams and projects had to be done first. So look in the future for my review of this series.

For now please enjoy one of my blogging friend's review, Deena @
A Peek at My Bookshelf. I visit her blog every day, at least 3 times a day. She has such great content, reviews, interviews, special features. BTW if you love giveaways, check out her blog, she has tons every week! If her blog reaches 50,000 visits by December 31 she's going to have a huge giveaway where the winner picks the books!


When I first found Cindy Woodsmall's novels, I was amazed at how much I enjoyed them. Not being a huge fan of Amish stories, I was hooked from the first chapter. That love for Cindy's writing has continued throughout the series to this third book and stunning conclusion.

We first met Hannah Lapp on the most tragic evening of her young life in "When the Heart Cries". Then, we traveled with her as she left her childhood home in the Old Amish Order and went to find healing from her deep hurt in "When the Morning Comes".

Now, Hannah has found healing and hope again...only trouble in Owl's Perch comes knocking on her door. She is forced to return and re-visit the past. Is she strong enough to face those who shunned her for wrong reasons?

Can Hannah find it in herself to forgive those who've misjudged, lied...and even betrayed her heart? And who will Hannah choose...the man who represents all she's gained...or the one who holds the key to all she's lost?

With heart and hope and a wonderfully balanced glimpse into the lives of the Old Amish Order and the Mennonite community, I am in love with "When the Soul Mends". I'm in love with Cindy Woodsmall's writing!

I'm giving "When The Soul Mends" five out of five bookmarks with a kapp as a tassel (no offense intended--I have high admiration for the Amish)...and I encourage you to take a chance on the "Sisters of the Quilt" series!

Happy Reading!


Cindy Woodsmall is a veteran homeschool mom. As her children progressed in age, her desire to write grew stronger. After working through reservations whether this desire was something she should pursue, she began her writing journey. Her husband was her staunchest supporter as she aimed for what seemed impossible.

Her first novel, When The Heart Cries, released in 2006 to much acclaim and became a Christian Book Association best seller. Cindy was a 2007 ECPA Christian Book Award finalist, along with Karen Kingsbury, Angela Hunt, and Charles Martin.

Her last book, When the Morning Comes, hit the New York Times best-sellers extended list and the Christian Book Association best-sellers list.

Cindy’s real-life connections with Amish Mennonite and Old Order Amish families enrich her novels with authenticity.

Cindy, her husband, their three sons and daughter-in-law reside in Georgia. Her husband is a registered land surveyor and a vice president at an engineering firm. Their oldest son has a bachelor’s degree in nuclear medicine and works at a local hospital. Their second son and his wife are both students at the University of Georgia. Their teen-aged son keeps the household energized with his love of music, books, and writing.


Popular posts from this blog

Book Giveaway: Finding Father Christmas and Engaging Father Christmas by Robin Jones Gunn

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month and HUGE Giveaway!

Book Review: "Balancing Acts" by Zoe Fishman